Nikon D90 / MB-D80 and Batteries EN-EL3e

17 May

I purchased my D90, the MB-D80 bundled with an extra battery online (from a prominent online camera store via Amazon) and was excited about taking tons of pictures without running out of juice. As a novice in the DSLR world, I was not quick in differentiating the fake/generic battery pack from the original one by name only. I would say anyone could have made the same mistake. Going by just the model numbers, I thought I was picking up the right battery (EN-EL3E) for the brand new D90, but to my amazement I was getting something that my D90 would not recognize. Rather than picking up the Nikon EN-EL3E, I got a plain old EN-EL3E.

After attaching the MD-B80 to the D90 body and popped in the original battery that came with the camera and the extra battery that was bundled with MB-D80, in the battery info screen on the D90, the second battery was grayed out. After shooting about 600 frames using the original battery, it ran out of juice and I was expecting the 2nd battery to kick in, but to my surprise the second battery was dead. The second battery was charged prior to installation for about 3 hours.

Here is a Nikon website that points out the real deal and the imitations

How can I spot imitation and non-Nikon rechargeable batteries

Here is what I got below. The real deal on the right and the imitation on the left.

Imitation Battery vs Real Deal (EN-EL3e)

One Response to “Nikon D90 / MB-D80 and Batteries EN-EL3e”

  1. paigekepple June 2, 2009 at 3:40 PM #

    There are dozens of digital SLR cameras on the market today; however, there are few clear or consistent guides to which ones are the best quality and most reliable. Well, Which Digital SLR Camera? has personally tested and evaluated these digital SLR cameras so to give you an easy and simple recommendation of which ones you should choose and which ones you should avoid.

Leave a Reply

